One man’s dream came true this week when he flew halfway across America to meet the dog that has changed his life and inspired his Facebook page entitled, “Star – The New York pit bull shot by police.”

Charlie Cifarelli founder of the Facebook Star page, finally meets his inspiration,

Charlie Cifarelli founder of the Facebook Star page, finally meets his inspiration, “Star.” Credits: Charlie Cifarelli

Charlie Cifarelli, is a native New Yorker who now lives and owns a successful recycling business in Nebraska. Cifarelli was just one of the millions that watched a viral video this summer of a pit bull being shot point blank in the head by an NYPD officer, and survived.

The public was outraged because the dog whose name would later be revealed as “Star,” was protecting her homeless owner that was having a seizure.

Cifarelli quickly turned his outrage into a constructive tool that is now called the “Star” page on Facebook; it has kept the public informed on Star’s recovery, and possibly saved her life.

Examiner asked Cifarelli what inspired him to create the Star page?

I was so horrified by her shooting and when I looked at Star and Lech (Star’s owner at the time) lying on the ground like no one cared. I saw Lech not being checked on even after Star was shot. I saw a man’s dog shot and screaming and even after she was no longer a threat no one checked on her or Lech. I had enough I was going to do something several days later I started the Star page.” Cifarelli replied.

“For me this would be so out of my comfort zone but for Star and Lech I felt it was necessary.” Cifarelli ended.

Cifarelli has stayed in touch with the officials in charge of Star’s recovery and releases the updates to the public on the Star page. But the one thing Cifarelli has been unable to do up to this point was meet the dog he affectionately calls “our Star girl.”

Ever since August when she was shot and almost died, I have had a desire to help her and at the very least rally those around me to know her story and support her. Since the moment I saw the video of her being shot I wanted to reach out and hug her and tell her I love her and she has people all over the world who feel as I do.” Cifarelli stated.

That finally changed this week for Cifarelli who was invited to meet the dog that changed his life.

In this exclusive Examiner interview, Cifarelli reveals his physical and emotional journey to meet Star.

This week, I left my home in Nebraska and some 12 hours later I would meet my hero dog “Star.”

“It was surreal I would go through several doors, a long corridor and a steel door along with a gate. The lights were dim I was a guest in this facility which treats animals with care, the way that all animals should live.

It was quiet with classical music being played. Instead of dogs that bark you could hear a pin drop. As I entered her large 20 x 20 room a rush of emotions entered me I was finally here I made it to see the dog who I have wrote about, talk about, I was even on the radio in the UK talking about her.”

“I saw Star!

“The words came out of me “Hey Star Girl it’s me Charlie.” “She sat for me and gave me that look with a wide smile, her trademark look. The lights were turned on for me and I literally hugged her for what seemed like an eternity. I hugged her for me and the whole world and realized how fortunate I was to be able to have this time with her. She has such a smooth coat and she is actually a little shy at first. I talked to her and I hugged her over and over again.”

I’m quite amazed at how well she has recovered.”

“Her sight seemed good as I played with and her toys she hears noises in the corridor outside her room. I spoke to her doctor a wonderful woman who has compassion and understanding of Stars injuries and her treatment to this point.”

I can’t over emphasize how much our Star Girl is loved by staff.

“She is walked four times a day. She has the best medical staff and hospital steps away from where she resides, and a kind soul who makes this all possible because he believes the animals that come into his care should be treated in the most humane capacity available. If anyone had concerns about Stars well-being let me put you at ease; I don’t know if there is a place that could do more or care more about Star.”

I spent time with our girl on the first day of my visit. When I returned the following day, Star knew who I was and there were more belly rubs, hugs and kisses. At some point the next day it was time for me to go. I had to say goodbye again like the first day of my visit, and I cried inside. I gave her a hug and walked away, not easy to do.”

“When someone sees her in person for the first time, you feel like you know her so well. I looked and saw the trademark dots on the back of her neck the dots by her nose. “

I have never slept so well after seeing our girl. I will always cherish the memories this dog has evoked in me and will always think about meeting her. This was something I thought could never have happened.”

“Ask me today if I believe in miracles, the answer is yes!

“Thank you Star.”

The Star page grows larger every day, but Cifarelli will always be Star’s number one fan.

News Link:http://www.examiner.com/article/star-the-dog-shot-by-nypd-meets-her-number-one-fan?cid=db_articles

Stars Facebook page:-https://www.facebook.com/StarTheNewYorkPitbullShotByPolice?ref=stream

Related:-