“Please watch the video that accompanies this news; at the link below”

“I don’t know how many of you know, but I rescued a gypsy cob colt at auction 3 years ago, because he was being whipped to death; a baby that wouldn’t load, because he should have been with his mum.  I couldn’t bear to walk away knowing he would be beaten, over & over again. There were so many who looked ill; if I had the money & land I would have taken them all. The best I could do was to take him & report the owner to WHW; which I did!!”

“These cob colts are 2 a penny, because some just breed to sell to make money; making decent gypsies look bad! They don’t care where they graze as long as they have free grass…just up the road from me there are many gypsy cobs with colts at foot, grazing on council property. When I was mobile there was many a time I would have to stop the traffic on the busy road, so as I could catch them; not the horses fault, they were just looking for food & water. Every time I came home from seeing to my horse, I would drive past the council land where all the gypsy cobs were tethered & fill their water buckets & spread a bale of hay between them all, because I couldn’t bear to see them go without!”

“It doesn’t take long for them to eat everything in site within their radius; hence they get hungry & get loose! Horses need more than just grass & anyone with an ounce of horse knowledge knows that, gypsies know a great deal about horses, but there will always be those few who just breed to make money, sod the poor horses; they are there to make money, so can survive on council grass alone. It cost me over £1000 to get my little colt back to good shape; I knew I couldn’t keep him due to my poor health. So I got him back to good health etc. inc. a microchip. He is now with my friends daughter who loves him unconditionally; I didn’t’ sell him, I gave him to her because I knew he would have a permanent home with someone to love him. (You can see video of him on my Youtube account)”

“I have nothing against gypsies whatsoever, some of the cobs around where I live are magnificent, they really take care of them. It’s the minority, as usual, that give them a bad name…those that breed just to make a bit of money, leaves so many of these colts in undesirable hands, like the one I rescued. They are dragged from sale to sale until somebody takes ownership; cost of a colt at present anything from £20 out back, if the owners desperate to get rid! It cost me £50 out back (not in sale ring) for 2 colts back then, my friend took one, I took the other. All this means these poor babies often fall into bad hands or killer buyers.”

“Yes, they are hardy animals but they still need everything that a horse costing £2000 would need; decent hard feed, hay, supplements, stable or some sort of cover, wormers, microchips, passports, rugs & someone to groom, keep mud fever & mites at bay; it takes a lot of time to keep a cobs feathers neat & in good health. Nobody could take care of thousands of cobs unless they were millionaires, with at least 800 acres of land with around 400 members of staff to care for the horses; don’t care what you say, which is why many are abandoned!. The rule of thumb is an acre per horse, depending on size etc. My guess is; this has been a long time coming for this guy…so thank God they have now got him!! “

“Please watch the video at the link below, it doesn’t contain any nasties, just gives you a better perception as the written news is very minimal!!”

A Vale of Glamorgan horse trader who has thousands of Gypsy Cob ponies has been found guilty of 57 animal welfare and cruelty charges.

Tom Price, 48, from Wick, was convicted of causing unnecessary suffering to 18 horses by magistrates in Cardiff.

The animals were found at five different south Wales locations, including 12 “left to die” in a Bridgend barn.

He will be sentenced in July, following the RSPCA prosecution.

Video & News Link:-http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-22907992